Moose Lake Star Gazette - Serving Carlton and Pine Counties Since 1895

By Peggy Granquist
Moose Lake Star-Gazette 

Koecher, Sheetz and Petty are 2019 Cross Country Polar League Champs


October 17, 2019

The 2019 Polar League Cross Country championships were held Thursday, October 10 in Grand Marais, MN at the Pincushion Trails. The top 10 runners in the varsity race are conference champions. This years champions for ML/WR/Barnum are Maverick Koecher (5th overall) for the boys, Lilly Petty (5th) and Coriella Sheetz (8th) for the girls. Shannon Granquist (15th) and Kelli Granquist (16th) Rayna Klejeski (17th) and Kyra Heaton (19th) rounded out the top 20 for the girls and Johnny Danelski (15th), Tan Dipman (18th), Shawn Bailey (19th), and Chance Lunde (20th) for the boys.

Starting out the day was the junior high race for the boys and girls. Brooklyn Peterson was the 1st Lady Rebel to cross the finish line with a time of 13:15.3 and Jocelyn Mundell (21st) 13:58.1. In the boys race, Chet Giersdorf-Thompson was the 1st Rebel runner to finish with a time of 11.29.3. Giersdorf-Thompson finished 21st overall. Max Petry (33rd) had a time of 12:39.4, Ray Langhorst (38th) 13:28.0, and Levi Anderson (40th) 13.52.5.

Laya Danelski was the 1st Rebel to finish in the junior varsity girls race. Danelski finished 2nd overall with a time of 23:38.9. Elle Nielsen followed Danelski with an overall 4th place showing with a time of 25:04.7, JoJo Fossom (8th) 26:21.9, Lillia Jordan (12th) 27:06.0, Addie Hanson (17th) 28:41.5, Kelly Crump (28th) 30:36.7, and Anna Molis (35th) 35:03.7. Addison Geil and Brynn Kamp were inactive for this race. The JV girls finished 2nd as a team. The newcomer, Everett Fitzimmons, finished 1st overall for the JV boys with a time of 20:04.3 followed by Elliot Wasche (3rd) 20:21.3. Daniel Mikrot (7th) had a time of 20:43.0, Gavin Thiry (8th) 20:52.0, Ryden Anderson (11th) 21:22.9, Josh Anderson (12th) 21:23.7, Carl Halverson (13th) 21:33.3, Anson Vargo (29th) 25:02.1, and Kellen Harder (37th) 28:56.5. Connor Clausen, Carter Gran and Levi Granda did not start. The JV boys finished 1st as a team.

The varsity girls race had Lilly Petty taking the top spot for the Rebels with a time of 21:34.0. Petty was 5th overall. Coriella Sheetz (8th) had a time of 21:53.1, Shannon Granquist (15th) 22:44.0, Kelli Granquist (16th) 22:46.6, Rayna Klejeski (17th) 23:00.8, Kyra Heaton (19th) 23:24.3 and Savannah Gamst (26th) 24:27.2. The Lady Rebels finished 3rd as a team. Maverick Koecher was the 1st Rebel to cross the finish line for the boys. Koecher finished 5th overall with a time of 17:56.1. Johnny Danelski (15th) had a time of 18:41.5, Tan Dipman (18th) 19:04.0, Shawn Bailey (19th) 19:07.3, Chance Lunde (20th) 19:13.9, Joseph Mikrot (22nd) 19:19.2, and Sam Stadin (31st) 20:05.6. The boys finished 4th as a team.

“It's always nice to have multiple all-conference runners. We had some really nice performances for both teams,” said Coach Whelan.

The varsity runners compete in sections in Cloquet on Thursday, October 24th.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 04/03/2020 19:31