Moose Lake Star Gazette - Serving Carlton and Pine Counties Since 1895

By Press Release
Moose Lake Star-Gazette 

Barnum's Commencement


Press Release

Barnum High School Commencement exercises were held on Friday, May 31, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Gymnasium.

The high school band, under the direction of Jeff Gilbertson, played the processional and recessional for the 2019 graduates. The high school band also played the selection “Mt. Everest” arranged by Rossano Galante. The high school choir, directed by Lori Koski, sang the selection “Pacem” by Lee Dengler, accompanied by Jeff Gilbertson and Esther Vogt.

Student speakers were Sydney Baier (welcome), Arraya Laitinen (past), Shelby Bonneville (tribute), and Jessica Schatz (future).

Superintendent David Bottem presented special awards to the following students: the Nathan Moore Attendance Award to Jessica Schatz; the American Legion Auxiliary Good Citizenship Award to Henry Collier and Jessica Schatz.

Principal Brian Kazmierczak presented the male athlete of the year award to Samuel Goodwin and the female athlete of the year award to Mallory Agurkis. Receiving the John Philip Sousa Music award was Max Salzer.

Fifty-eight graduates were presented by principal Brian Kazmierczak and Social Studies teacher Richard Newman. Diplomas were distributed by Jessica Unkelhaeuser and Beth Schatz, representing the Barnum Board of Education.

Max Salzer, son of Troy & Christine Salzer, was announced as 2018-2019 valedictorian and Alan Sebring, son of Alan Roatch and Jenny Sebring, was announced as 2018-2019 salutatorian.

Graduates with distinction require a cumulative grade point average of 3.8 and above, while graduates to be named as honor students must have obtained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 and above.

Graduates with Distinction

Aaron Rimolde, Max Salzer, Jessica Schatz, Alan Sebring

Honor Students

Mallory Agurkis, Sydney Baier, Jaslyn Biebl, Shelby Bonneville, Kennedy Bryant, Brandon Calverley, Izabell Carlson, Keith Carlson, Henry Collier, Nathan Finifrock, Chad Fisher, Emma Gottschalk, Arraya Laitinen, Laec Lekander, Meghan Liimatainen, Dakota Litfin, Britney Mike, Tyler Monfeldt, Nathan Moors, Tyler Nynas, Hailey O’Leary, Lauren Peaney, Bradlee Pearson, Jennette Schmitt, Jacob Truman, Taylor Westendorf

Izabell Carlson and Dakota Litfin both earned their associate of arts degree along with their high school diplomas.

Juniors who served as honor ushers for commencement were: Allison Began, Juliana Biebl, Madeleine Manahan, Eden Sebring.

Miniature diplomas and special 2019 coins, courtesy of Education Minnesota, Barnum, were presented by elementary teacher Paula Baier and high school teacher Ann Finifrock. n


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019