Moose Lake Star Gazette - Serving Carlton and Pine Counties Since 1895

Moose Lake School Board reorganizes


Four of the six members of the Moose Lake School Board voted to elect Kris Lyons as chair of the Moose Lake School Board for a second year after Lyons, serving as acting chair, swore in the new member of the board, Scott Benoit, and returning members, Jamie Jungers and Lisa Anderson-Reed, who had been re-elected.

Julie Peterson nominated Lisa Anderson-Reed but she and Anderson-Reed were the only two votes against Lyons and for Anderson-Reed. Board members voting for Lyons were Benoit, Jungers, Peter Steen and Lyons.

“I don’t think Kris (Lyons) should have been nominated,” said Peterson. “She is leading the district. I consider her a friend but, because of her personal problems, she should not be the chair.”

Lyons apologized to the board for her personal problems and said that she accepted Peterson’s personal opinion.

“I have heard from many people that you should not be chair,” added Peterson. “No one ever talked about you not being on the board but multiple people said that you should have stepped down from being the chair.”

Lyons had been charged with two counts of DWI after being arrested on August 15, 2012.

Peterson also made a statement after Steen was elected as vice chair of the board in the second round of voting.

“With Billie Jo (Steen) as an administrator, I feel that it is difficult to have a spouse as an officer on the board, in my opinion,” she said.

Peter and Billie Jo Steen are husband and wife. Billie Jo is the high school principal.

Anderson-Reed was re-elected to serve as clerk.

A motion was passed to name Linda Dahlman, the business manager for the school district, to perform the duties as treasurer.

The board meetings and time of meetings will remain at the third Monday of the month at 6 p.m. in room 115 of the high school.

Lois Johnson

Officers of the Moose Lake School Board welcome the new board member, Scott Benoit. From left: Kris Lyons, chair; Peter Steen, vice chair; Lisa Anderson-Reed, clerk and Benoit.

The board voted to keep the board members’ annual compensation rates at $2,400 for the chair, $1,500 for the clerk and others at $1,200.

The mileage rate was set at the IRS rate of 56.5 cents a mile.

The per diem rates for overnight meetings and conferences of $7 for breakfast, $10 for lunch and $17 for supper will remain at the current rates.

The First National Bank was again named the school district’s depository, and Lyons and Anderson-Reed were again named as signatories.

A closed meeting to evaluate Robert Indihar as superintendent will be held after the working board meeting on January 14.

Task force meetings of community members were set for Thursday, January 10, at 7 p.m. and Tuesday, January 15, at 7 p.m., if needed.

The regular board meeting has been set for Monday, January 28, at 6 p.m.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/16/2019 04:51