MLPD arrests woman for DWI, finds vehicle stolen
Tessa Marie Olson, 20, was arrested in Moose Lake for receiving stolen property, test refusal in the third degree, driving while impaired in the fourth degree and underage drinking and driving.
A complaint from the Moose Lake Police Department stated that on June 27 at approximately 3:45 a.m., a Moose Lake police officer observed a Chevy Blazer with Wisconsin plates at the Holiday gas station at a time when the store was closed. The officer observed a female individual get out of the vehicle as if in an attempt to pump gas, despite the fact that the store was closed.
After driving around the city of Moose Lake for a short time, the officer again observed the subject vehicle traveling eastbound on Highway 73, toward the freeway Little Store, and, as he followed, he observed erratic driving and violations. He then stopped the vehicle and identified the driver as Olson. As the officer spoke with Olson he observed indicia of intoxication, and she admitted to consuming alcohol prior to driving. The officer asked Olson to step out of the vehicle to perform some field sobriety tests. Olson failed the tests and preliminary breath test (PBT) indicated a blood alcohol concentration of .204.
Olson was arrested for the driving offenses. The officer learned the vehicle Olson was driving at the time of her arrest was stolen out of the city of Duluth, the complaint states. When the officer spoke to Olson about the vehicle she could not provide an adequate explanation as to who owned the vehicle or why she was driving it, despite the fact it was a stolen vehicle.
Olson was transported to the Carlton County Law Enforcement Center and read the Minnesota Implied Consent Advisory numerous times and given an ample amount of time to contact an attorney. However, Olson did not contact an attorney and refused to submit to testing after she had been arrested in the field for DWI. She was then booked for several offenses and the vehicle was towed from the scene after it was determined to be stolen.
Receiving stolen property carries a maximum sentence of five years and/or $10,000 fine; test refusal in the third degree carries a maximum sentence of one year and/or a $3,000 fine; and driving while impaired and underage drinking and driving each carry maximum sentences of 90 days and/or $1,000 fines.